top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiveology


Eternal dharma.

Photo by Sanjeev Bothra

Location of Origin


Basic Principles

1. Ahimsa (non-violence)

2. Anekantavada (non-absolutism)

3. Aparigraha (asceticism)


Jainism is an ancient religion based in India based on dharma, or eternal teaching from the 24 tirthankaras from each cycle of time. The three main pillars are ahimsa, anekantavada, and aparigraha. Jain monks and nuns take vows of ahimsa (non-harming), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya (self-control), and aparigraha (non-attachment). Jains are often vegetarian, and monks and nuns are often seen wearing masks, so not to even injure a fly by accidentally inhaling it.



8 Limbs of Yoga


Liveology Yoga Studios creates uplifting content for your whole life. Join us on the journey of seeking God, self-study, healing, and awakening as we draw from spiritual traditions across the world. Subscribe for access to our exclusive library of articles and videos and other special benefits. Make sure to follow us on Instagram and YouTube! Thank you for your continued and growing support.

Peace & Pineapples!